Limitations with large number of executed workflows

Hi all,

I’ve been using Corteza for 3 months now and I’ve noticed some kind of critical limitation regarding executing workflows.

when we define a trigger we specify its constraints as much as possible.
this is suggested by the docs to reduce the amount of the executed workflows when they shouldn’t

Constraint your triggers as much as possible to prevent your workflows from executing when they shouldn’t.

the thing is we only can specify two fields the Module and the Namespace and those fields are Corteza specific. What if we include domain-specific fields from the module itself. for example,
if I have a module that has a field called status and I want a workflow to run only on the records which have Close as a status value.
if I have 20K of records in that module, the system will suffer from unwanted automation executions. what I currently do is that my workflow has Gateway(exclusive) after the trigger to check if the status is not Close then it terminates.

the following issues are critical and limit us in the company to depend 100% on Corteza

• we’ve noticed some of the triggers don’t even run > this is because our servers dropped them(I’m not sure if that is a valid reason). so we increased the number of our AWS servers to handle this fake load. which increased the bill
  • when we monitor our sessions to see what workflows have run due to specific operations. we’ve found it so hard since they’re a lot of automation running at the nearly same time.
  • if that trigger is set to be BeforeUpdate for example, and I update the record from the UI, it takes too long. so save that record. which damages the experience of the platform
  • in some cases (and I’m not sure if that is the reason), the platform froze for any write operation. such as login or creating a new record. so the server will not respond to any write operation until we restart the server.