Plugin incompatibility - different version of package internal/goarch

Hi, I’m quite new to Corteza, it’s open architecture fit’s my personal attitude.
Now I’m experimenting with plugins and reached a point where I have no idea why the plugin loader is complaining. This is what I get:

plugin.Open("../randomplugin/randomplugin"): plugin was built with a different version of package internal/goarch

I’m using Corteza version 2022.3.3-rc.1.
I checked twice that my go version number in my go.mod file is the same. I tried 1.18 and 1.17 in Corteza server’s go.mod and in my plugin go.mod. I’m using go 1.18.2.
My first assumption was that “make watch” calls gin and as a proxy has another binary version of go libs, but when running corteza server directly after “make build”, I get the same error.

I even wrote a dummy Go plugin loader app to test if there is some general problem on my go setup and that works like a charm, I can load the so file and call the “CortezaPlugin” function.
This is how I link my *.so file in my .env file:

PLUGINS_PATHS=../randomplugin/*.so

I’m developing in WSL2, but randomplugin and corteza-server are both developed in the same Ubuntu instance.
My GOOS is “linux” and my GOARCH is “amd64” - checked right before the compilation of both binaries.

This is how I compile my plugin:

go build -buildmode=plugin -o randomplugin.so main.go

Do you have any idea about what I’m doing wrong?

Hi @yoktobit

have you found out anything new regarding this issue?

We’ve been using the plugin system on the 2021.9.x version with golang version 1.16 without any problems, but from 1.17, the build process for us does not work anymore.

We are thinking of looking into GitHub - hashicorp/go-plugin: Golang plugin system over RPC. as production ready solution for this part.